City Council

City Council meetings are generally held the second and fourth Mondays of the month at 7:30 p.m. in Marysville City Hall Joseph S. Johns Council Chambers.  The public is invited to attend.

While our meetings are not currently televised live, they are available by playback on Comcast Channel 6 at the following times:

  • Tuesday (week of meeting) at 12 p.m. and 7 p.m.;
  • Wednesday (week of meeting) at 10 a.m. and 9 p.m.; and
  • Thursday (week of meeting) at 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Meetings are also available for viewing on our Vimeo page.

Our Mayor and Council Members are as follows:

Wayne P. Pyden

Mayor Pro Tem
Kathy Hayman

Council Members
Greg Badley
David C. Barber
Daniel Shirkey
Paul A. Wessel
Shawn Winston

The council-manager form of local government is the most popular type since it provides for unification of authority and political responsibility in an elected council and centralization of administration responsibility in an appointed professional administrator. The city council is the governing body and the city manager carries out the policies as determined by the council.

Marysville has a seven member council (including the elected mayor) and voters elect or re-elect three members and the mayor each two years in the odd year elections. The council determines all municipal policies, adopts ordinances and resolutions and approves the budget for carrying out city operations.

The mayor is the member of the council who is elected for a two year term.  He is a leader in the development of council policies and serves as chairman of the council during its meetings.  He also represents the city in ceremonial functions. The mayor and the council appoint interested citizens to serve on numerous city advisory boards and commissions.  They welcome requests from those interested in serving.

Welcome to Our Website

The City of Marysville continues to strive to be a great place to visit, a better place to live, AND ensure our website is a great resource of information. Have any questions or concerns? Please contact us and let us know how we can help.